Appalachian Trail, 8-5-97 and 8-7-97

8/5/97.  1:25 p.m.  On top of a rock on my way to the Rice Field Shelter, another 8 miles to go.  This is a long day as I try to reach Pearisburg by tomorrow.

   I had lunch and a lovely quiet time as the sun shines warmly and the breeze blows comfortably.  I’m tired but believe I can make another 8 miles, having hiked that to this point today.  Thanks, God, for a needed break.

   Hebrews 10.  The one sacrifice rids us of sin.  Be faithful to this confession.

   8:25 p.m. at Star Haven Shelter with “Betwixt,” a young man just out of the army who is hiking-hitchhiking the AT.  A nice guy who is out to have a good experience on the AT.

   It was a 16-mile day, certainly one of my two longest.  I was fatigued to the bone when I got here.  That’s too many miles for me to negotiate.  The terrain was level and “easy” compared to most of the trail terrain.

   This shelter sits next to a pasture overlooking the mountains, a very picturesque setting.  The breeze is very cold and strong so it’ll be a cold nite.

   I arrive in Pearisburg tomorrow, hopefully before noon, an 8-mile trek.  I’ll stay at the Roman Catholic Hostel.  It’ll be good to get a good shower and to get my clothes clean and dry.  I’ll have some deciding to do: whether to press on to Ceres with certainly some long days or cut it shorter and take shorter hikes each day.

   I had a great supper: spaghetti, cooked apples with honey and butter buds and lemonade.  I’m as full as a tick.  (I picked the apples when I went through an old apple orchard.)

   What a spectacular view today!  On a mountain bald with acres of blooming wild flowers and hundreds of butterflies and bees.  In the distance the valleys and the mountain ranges.  Quite spectacular.

   Thanks, God, for getting me here safe and healthy.

8/6/97  1:30 p.m.  I’m here at the Roman Catholic Hostel in Pearisburg “on schedule.”  I hiked 8 miles and got here at 11:30.  I got off at 6:55, a record for me!  I think as I get older it will increasingly be an advantage for me to get early starts.

   In looking over the trail mileage I’ve practically decided to go just 40 more miles, starting day after tomorrow.  In many ways I would rather try to “hack it out,” rolling out of here bright and early in the morning; but I don’t believe this is to be the “spirit” of my hiking.  Rather, to enjoy this small town for a day, eat some good meals, read the paper, relax, and then hike, but not in frantic pace.  I’m retired now and can get back up here for the remaining 30 miles distance.  Possibly Ted (Ted Spitler) would like to join me for it.

   Was I blessed?  Bill, the caretaker at the hostel, saw me walking with my “care package” from the post office and offered me a ride!  Was I ever glad!

   It was beautiful on the mountain as I left the shelter this morning!  There were clouds in the valleys so that all I could see were mountains and while clouds.

   Hebrews 11.  The great message of faith.

8/7/07.  3:25 p.m.  Who would believe that I am today at the Doc’s Knob Shelter!  It all happened last nite when I got to thinking about the opportunity that was mine—to press on and complete this final 75 mile section.  I got out of bed to look again at the map and to read the guidebook to see what it says about these approaching miles.  It seems that the area is almost totally “level” and that much of it is over old mountain roadbeds.  Both these facts indicate not as hard a hiking as is usual on the AT.

   So I got up from reading and assembled my foodstuffs to move out this morning.  After calling Melba and Mike Pruett I set out at 8:00, mailed cards at the Post Office and got on the trail at 9:00.  I had hoped to get a ride to the trail but no such luck.

   The climb to Angels’ Rest was tough but I made it fine.  I’m “foot and leg weary” but after a rest I plan to press on for 4 more miles to the campsite.  Making good miles today and tomorrow is crucial to completing the total miles by Tuesday.

   The weather is wonderfully cool!  It couldn’t be better.

   Highlight of the day?  A hawk hovered above me, whistling his “whistle” song.

   Another highlight: talking to 2 hikers who took this planned Ribble Trail.

   Hebrews 12.  Let us be strong and faithful in the toughness of life.  We are trained and made stronger by it.  So God disciplines his children.

   Help me, God, to press on and not be overcome by weakness and pain.

   7:45 p.m.  This is pure ecstasy!  I’m camping by a spring next to a pond at the north end of the Ribble Trail.  This blue-blazed trail should cut off about 3 miles of hiking, connecting onto the AT after 2.9 miles of hiking. I’ll come out at the AT about 12 miles from a shelter, having skipped one tomorrow.  If all goes well I should then be on schedule to complete the full hike on next Tuesday!  Praise God!

   I was very tired at the break this afternoon.  But the food and the 1-hour rest restored my strength.  In fact, my left ankle that has pained me all day subsided in pain.

   Tomorrow should be the last real hard day.  I’ll try to get an early start.

   Tonite I sleep on the deep, soft grass next to a picnic table.  The soft ground feels great!  It’s quite cool and there are a few clouds but I don’t anticipate rain!!  I’ll place the plastic over the picnic table and if it rains, get under the picnic table!  It’ll be a tight squeeze!  My food is suspended by rope from a tree and I’ll hang my pack also in a tree.  I feel like a real cowboy!  There’s not a human sound around.  Only the hum of a passing plane.  In the cool spring water is the remainder of the supper’s chocolate pudding which I’ll eat at breakfast.  I really love it out here—tummy’s full, teeth are brushed, sleeping bag is ready, wild but friendly nature is all  around.  God has blessed my plans for today.  He and I have had a good time this whole hiking experience.  He truly is a caring, constant companion.

                          Where is the side trail?

                           Two boys came along

                           They had hiked the trail today

                           They told me the way.

                           A coincidence?

                           Maybe yes or no

                          But I believe it was God

                          Looking after me!

                          I have some concerns

                          Hiking the unknown

                          I will be cautious and slow

                          Watching carefully.

                          Adventure is fun

                          But up to a point

                          My well-being is vital

                          To me and others.

                          God gave me a sign!

                          It was high above

                          A soaring and whistling hawk!

                          How graceful he flew.

This entry was posted in Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment